Your questions answered

Hi everyone! Hope you’ve all had a fantastic week – I certainly have! πŸ™‚

This week for this blog post I wanted to answer your questions!
I have been receiving them through social media and I have to say I’ve been very excited to answer these for all of you!

I’m overwhelmed with the response of questions from you all so I hope you love reading this post as much as I’ve enjoyed writing it.

Q1) “Hi Amy, my name is Robyn.
My daughter has PFFD and it looks as though we wont be able to continue with the surgeries that she was meant to have due to the cost involved.

She was meant to have four leg lengthenings and one pelvic hip support built (she doesn’t have a hip joint at all on one side).
She has had one lengthening, though.

My question to you is, do you have any hip pain as of yet? I have heard from some women who haven’t had any interventions who have chronic hip and pelvis pain now.
It is a concern that I will need to talk with my daughter about it so that she will know what to expect in the future.”

A1)Β Hi Robyn! I’m sorry to hear that your daughter was unable to continue with the surgeries she wanted due to the cost – that must’ve been really hard on all of you.

To answer your question – right now I don’t suffer with any hip pain, but my hip does click a lot and I have had to work really hard in physiotherapy to build up strength around that part of my body.

I would chat to your daughter about the pains that can come from wearing a prosthesis and being born with PFFD, just so she knows for the future like you said.. πŸ™‚ Take care!

 

Q2)Β “My daughter is six and will probably have an amputation in Bristol.
Either through the ankle keeping her knee joint where it is, or through the shin and her knee fused so the artificial knee is in line with her longer leg.

My questions are:
1. Whats the length difference between your knees and do you get any hip or back pain as a result of your knees not being even?
2. As an adult do you still get phantom pains?
3. Do you keep needing prosthesis adjustments?
4. Do you think you could’ve helped make the decision to amputate your foot when you were young?”

A2)Β Thank you so much for this fantastic set of questions!
I’m not sure exactly of the length difference between my stump and my long leg but I know that the stump is significantly shorter than my knee on my left leg.

I suffer with a lot of lower back pain due to being an amputee and having to wear a prosthesis, it’s very unpleasant but over the years I have learned to deal with it to some extent.

I do still suffer with phantom pains! They aren’t extremely painful but they’re really annoying as I usually have to stop what I’m doing while I’m having one! The sensation is just really unusual.

I need prosthesis adjustments roughly every couple of months – and a new leg about once every two years.. I’ve been visiting the same rehabilitation centre for 20 years!

As for deciding on the amputation, I made the decision myself 100% that I wanted to amputate. My parents we’re confident I was doing the right thing for me and were happy that I got to be involved in the decision, in fact, making it πŸ™‚ take care!

 

Q3)Β “What sort of things do you like doing?”

A3)Β Thanks so much for the question!
I love spending time with my family more than anything! Having meals with them, cooking with them, family get together’s are my absolute favourite. πŸ™‚ take care!

 

Q4)Β “What has been your health treatment regime, and is it ongoing? If so, how does it impact your life?”

A4)Β I have to have many appointments with doctors, prosthetists, physiotherapists and occupational therapists.. I see these a couple of times a month to make sure I’m OK and not in any pain, the only impact it has is repeatedly going to the same hospitals so often can be really draining! Take care.

 

Q5)Β “What is your favourite: Colour, Food, Drink, Place, Item, Song”

A5)Β Awesome questions! πŸ™‚
My favourite colour is purple – when I was younger it was orange.

My favourite food has to be pasta, I love cooking and a quorn spaghetti bolognese is one of my favourite meals to make for myself and others.

My favourite non-alcoholic drink is pomegranate juice, and my favourite alcoholic drink has to be a purple rain cocktail ❀

I absolutely loved visiting Spain, it felt amazing being in the sun and close to the beach, so far that is my favourite place!

My new chromebook is my favourite item right now, I’m amazed laptops can be this fast!
I love anything and everything by Lady Gaga!
Take care!

 

Q6)Β “What hobbies do you have?”

A6)Β Reading, writing and listening to music are my main hobbies that I thoroughly enjoy all of the time.

I love adventure fiction books, where you can just get lost into a story.. My favourite book of all time is Perfect by Rachel Joyce.

I love writing my blog, and I’m always on spotify to listen to music!
Take care.

 

Q7)Β “What’s your favourite thing about blogging?”

A7)Β This is a fantastic question and I’m so glad it got asked!

My favourite thing about blogging is getting the amazing responses from people all over the world telling me that my blog has helped them in someway, especially parents of children who tell me that my blog has helped their child in some way.

I love blogging and hope to continue forever! Take care πŸ™‚

 

Thanks so much for these fantastic questions everyone.

I hope every single one of you has a brilliant week!
Don’t forget, If there’s any questions you missed out on asking me please feel free to ask me them through my social media pages located on the top right of this page.

πŸ™‚ ❀

 

3 thoughts on “Your questions answered

  1. Once again you have helped so many people with your blogs, as you answer questions and prove to all, your a normal young lady…..oh, and you were born with PFFD….keep up the great workπŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

